New Car Lemon Law

In California, the lemon laws apply to every manufacturer of motor vehicles. At Alpha Law Firm, our attorneys are well-versed in the intricacies of the New Car Lemon Law and have extensive experience dealing with all automotive manufacturers. This expertise allows us to effectively advocate for our clients against any manufacturer.

If you are experiencing warranty issues with your new vehicle, we may be able to assist you.

What Is the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act?

The song-beverly consumer warranty act is most often called the california lemon law and provides you with protection if you’ve leased or bought a used car as long as the vehicle you purchased included:

If you are experiencing warranty issues with your new vehicle, we may be able to assist you. This includes:

    1. Any part of the manufacturer’s warranty that is still in effect.
    2. A written warranty from an automotive dealer.
    3. A certified pre-owned vehicle warranty, which means your motor vehicle includes an additional warranty through the certified pre-owned vehicle program offered by many manufacturers.

If you are facing warranty issues with your new vehicle, our firm may be able to assist you in pursuing the compensation you deserve.

“As Is" or Warranty?

If you purchased a used car in California, it can qualify under California Lemon Laws if it came with a warranty. Even if you are not the original owner, and you purchased the vehicle while it was covered by a manufacturer’s warranty, you may still be protected under the California Lemon Laws.

If you bought a used car and there wasn’t a manufacturer’s warranty included, then the automobile dealership must have given you a written warranty for the California used car Lemon Laws to apply.

In general, a dealer warranty on a used car will be limited to a period of less than three (3) Months. Federal and state law does require that a buyers guide be displayed in a prominent place on any used car that is being offered for sale.

This buyer’s guide will have two boxes on it – one will be labeled ‘warranty’ and one labeled, ‘as is’.  If the used car you bought had the warranty box checked, then your motor vehicle came with a warranty and you may be able to file a claim under the California Lemon Laws.

The skilled and knowledgeable attorneys at Alpha Law Firm understand the California Lemon Laws and can explain what options may be available to you. Remember, Calfiornia Lemon Laws require that the manufacturer of your vehicle pay all legal fees and costs.

What Is a Reasonable Amount of Repair Attempts Under the New Car Lemon Laws?

Lemon Law Car LA
What may be considered a ‘reasonable’ amount of repair attempts entirely depends on how serious the defect is and your individual circumstances.

There is a special provision that can assist you in figuring out what a reasonable amount of repair attempts is for the issues your vehicle is having that impairs in a substantial manner the value, use, and/or safety of your motor vehicle.

The California Lemon Law does apply to these types of issues if they come up within the first 18 months that you took delivery of your motor vehicle or within the first 18,000 miles, and the law does presume that the manufacturer had a reasonable number of repair attempts if:

  • The same problem resulted in a condition that could cause serious injury or death if your vehicle is driven and an attempt has been made to repair your vehicle at least two or more times by the manufacturer or its agents, such as a dealership, and if you have at least one time notified the manufacturer of the problem and the need to have it repaired according to your owner’s manual or vehicle warranty; Or
  • An attempt was made at least 4 or more times by the manufacturer or its agents to remedy the problem and you have notified the manufacturer at least one time about the need for the problem to be repaired as outlined in your owner’s manual or warranty information packet; Or
  • Your vehicle is not in service because of the repair attempts addressing any number of issues by the manufacturer or its agents for a total of more than 30 days cumulative, since you took delivery of your vehicle.
It’s important to note that the buyer’s guide is not a rule. A court or arbitrator can and will assume that the manufacturer of your vehicle has had a reasonable number of repair attempts if all of the conditions have been met.

Who is covered by New Car Lemon Laws?

California Lemon Laws apply to new vehicles that you have purchased for family, household or personal use.  The California Lemon Law does also apply to a new vehicle that has a gross weight of under 10,000 pounds that you bought or use for business purposes by you, another person, a partnership, corporation, llc, association or any other legal entity as long as not more than five motor vehicles are registered to in the state of California.

If you believe your new or used warranted vehicle is a lemon and qualifies as such under the California Lemon Law, or have any concerns or questions, the experienced lemon law attorneys at Alpha Law Firm will be happy to assist you. They will evaluate your case and advise you of your next steps.

Call Alpha Law Firm at (323)51-LEMON (53666) today!



Get latest updates about Lemon Law